The GCCA+ flagship initiative supports adaptation and mitigation efforts, for the most part, in Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS) that are recipients of aid in line with the official Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Development Assistance Committee List of Official Development Assistance Recipients (DAC List of ODA recipients) and United Nations lists of SIDS. It works with a variety of partners to maximise impact, leverage additional funding, and pool together resources, expertise and knowledge.

The initiative works with partner countries through a range of financing agreements such as budget support, grants, delegation agreements with EU Member State agencies, or other agreements with international organisations. The GCCA+ may also use grants to support regional organisations and civil society organisations (CSO).

Typical sectors and activities supported

The GCCA+ initiative aims to fund actions that:

  • Strengthen the resilience and adaptive capacity of human and natural systems to climate-related natural hazards and disasters (e.g. climate-smart agriculture, integrated coastal zone management, improving the sustainability of ecosystem services);
  • Improve community and institutional capacity for enhanced climate resilience (e.g., integrating participatory disaster risk reduction, climate adaptation, and climate mitigation);
  • Promote effective climate change planning and management capacities, including focusing on women, youth and local and marginalised communities (e.g., mainstream climate change issues into national and local governments’ planning and budgeting systems; increase the amount of finance available to local governments for implementing climate strategies).

Review the full list of GCCA+ funded programmes.

What are the eligibility criteria for funding?

Following the declared intention of countries to develop a climate action that responds to the GCCA+ initiative key requirements, expressions of interest in the form of concept notes (see the GCCA+ proposal preparation checklist) are submitted by the EU Delegation to DEVCO for an internal screening of the rationale and quality of the action, taking into account:

  1. The quality of the request made and endorsements by the relevant country authorities and/or the delegation for a GCCA+ funded action;
  2. The status of the dialogue on climate change between the country and the EU (e.g. quality of related actions, joint declarations);
  3. Political factors such as strategic and/or enforced cooperation with certain countries;
  4. The role the country plays in the UNFCCC negotiations and commitment to its processes, and efforts in the implementation of related commitments.

Funding is then allocated on the basis of need-prioritisation criteria following:

  • a potential maximum allocation per country; and
  • a prioritisation towards those countries most vulnerable to the adverse effects of climate change using the GCCA+ index.

The potential maximum allocation of GCCA+ initiative funds by country depends on the available annual budget under the GPGC, the type/size of proposed intervention, the country population size, and the number of country requests in the given year.

A country’s climate change vulnerability is scored according to the GCCA+ index and based on four components:

  • natural hazards: the occurrence of climate-related and weather-driven hazards, flooding, storms, droughts, and sea level rise;
  • exposure: the consequences for people and assets of climate-related events;
  • vulnerability: socio-economic and environmental factors, including indicators linked to dependency on natural resources or agriculture;
  • capacity: economic, social and environmental factors that make a country more resilient to climate change, therefore reducing the impacts of climate related events. These conditions should be met to ensure that development is climate resilient.

The GCCA+ index is made of 34 ‘fit-for-purpose’ indicators compiled and updated by the EU Joint Research Centre (JRC).

What is the funding process ?

An approved 2014-2020 financial framework is used to allocate and commit funds on a yearly basis and entails the development of an Annual Action Programme (AAP).

Every year, a selected number of countries is included in the AAP and supported throughout the process of identification and/or formulation of GCCA+ Action Documents (ADs).

Once the AAP and the related Financing Decision are adopted, the EUD of the beneficiary countries can sign the relevant agreements to start implementation of the projects.

The funding process takes about 2 years before projects are implemented. The following steps describe the process s to follow for a given AAP - Year N:

  1. n-1

    Interested countries submit a Concept Note

  2. end of n-1

    Selection of countries for inclusion in AAP - Year N

  3. n

    Identification and Formulation of ADs for selected countries

  4. n+1

    Implementation of projects

  1. Countries submit a concept note/‘expression of interest’ to the relevant EU Delegation (EUD). The submission should follow the key requirements of projects, covered in the GCCA+ proposal preparation checklist.

    1. the EUDs share the concept notes with the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development
    2. the GCCA+ index is used to prioritise the countries that are in the most need of assistance
  2. The Annual Action Programme (AAP) is decided making specific countries and regions eligible for funding. 

    1. selected countries are informed
    2. these countries can now benefit from GCCA+ Support Facility technical assistance
  3. The EU Delegations identify the projects and develop action documents (ADs) to apply for funding.

    1. the ADs are screened by Quality Support Groups and endorsed or refused
    2. endorsed projects are financed and contracts are signed
  4. Funding is used to implement the projects.

Direct funding

The Intra-ACP programme offers assistance to public and private organisations located in the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States. This includes direct funding, direct technical support, and activities to build regional policy dialogue and share knowledge on climate change issues. Find out more about the Intra-ACP Regional Dialogue.